top of page

I'm just a girl

As I sit here, I can't help but make up stories for everyone who passes me by. The girl in the plaid coat who's hair is cut above her shoulders is in school here. It's her first year and she's struggling. I mean, who doesn't struggle in their first year of post-secondary... she walked through the cafeteria because it's getting cold outside and she would rather add an extra 4 minutes to her walk to class than bare the cold more one more second.

The gentleman holding the coke, with a black hat and glasses has been employed by this school for 30 years. He's tired but he's taking time out of his day to talk to his coworker because he knows that without the caffeine and conversation, his day will drag. He only has one more hour of his shift before he can leave but he is going to choose to work later tonight because him and his wife got into an argument yesterday.

 

The point I am trying to make here is simple. We have NO idea what is going on in the lives of those around us. How can we expect to judge individuals if we have no idea who they are or what is going on in their life. Me? I go to school across the street but came here for the $1 coffee and chocolate covered almonds. I'm just a girl, sitting here in between classes, writing a blog and contemplating whether or not it is warm enough to take my hat off. (I'm also wondering why I hear drums in the middle of the cafeteria but that's something I'll go explore later...). I have friends in the city but my family and my heart is at least an hour away from me. I miss them everyday.

Stop comparing yourself to others. And stop thinking that you know everything about strangers. Take time out of your day to talk to someone you may not know a lot about. Someone may have woken up this morning thinking that not one person in the world cares about them. How much would it mean to them if you even just said "hi" while passing them on the street? Something kind of silly happened today to help prove this point.

I was meeting with fellow students who are coming to the Dominican Republic with me in November and I ran into an old classmate.

 

Quick backstory: when I was in my placement in grade 6, every morning for 6 weeks, I would write a 'joke of the day' on the board for the kids to read as they entered the classroom. I would post this joke on social media every morning to share with the world.

 

Okay, back to my story. So, this old classmate of mine approached me and said "oh my gosh! I loved reading your jokes everyday! My teacher and I would sit down during every lunch and read them! We thought they were so funny! They made our day!".

GUYS!.. You have the power to totally impact someones day without even knowing it! Let that sink in... I had no idea that my one small act would reach so many people in such diverse ways. Stop thinking about how you're going to act today and just be human. Just act like you and mountains will move. I promise.


RECENT POSTS:
bottom of page