top of page

Family

Since exams are coming up, I thought I’d take a break from studying to sit down and write about what has been going on these past few weeks.

This past weekend, we celebrated Easter and we spent continuous hours with family members. This made me realize how thankful I am for my parents raising me the way that they did. Such a great deal of the younger generation takes their family for granted and treats them in such a poor way. Sometimes all it takes is a look in the right direction of a loved one to understand how important family is. Family cannot judge. They have nothing to offer but love and it breaks my heart that people call their family members, their enemies. It isn’t fair for me to sit here and talk about how wonderful my family is without everyone understanding that it is far from perfect. We fight and sometimes it takes a lot to forgive, but at the end of the day, family is home. Family isn’t defined as being related by blood but by being related by heart. When I was at my family Easter celebration this past weekend, I kept getting praised for being there. Many of my older relatives were thanking me for coming as it meant to much to them to see the younger generation still care so deeply about family. Let that sink in… My family thanked me for coming to see them. The younger generation is putting so much pressure on themselves regarding what everyone else in society thinks that they are missing out on the fact that their family loves them regardless. Family stands still around you when the rest of the world shakes and shatters at your feet. The other day I was at the mall and I saw an older gentleman a ways away from me drop his pen out of his pocket. As I hurried to help him pick it up, I saw a young girl about my age, watch him try to bend over and pick it up and she continued to walk right past him. Kindness is a personality trait that is in everyone whether they show it or not and unfortunately, many of the younger generation fail to express this. I can speak as part of this generation when I say that we are sorry. Sometimes it’s hard to make the right decision and sometimes we don’t think about how our actions affect those around us. Since I came home, I have noticed how much of an impact you can have on those around you. Just a simple “hello” can make someone’s day and it is extraordinary to see the light in someone’s face when you acknowledge their presence. The other day, someone spoke to me about my future. They told me that I seem more mature, more sure of what I want to do. They continued to say that they could see a positive change in me and the way I view the world… a sense of comfort in my future. Hearing this was music to my ears. When others can noticeably see a positive change in me, it means that I am doing something right. It means the world to me to know that I am projecting on the outside, what I feel on the inside. Finally.

 

Since my last post, I have had many other instances where I could not thank God enough for what my life has become. On January 1st, 2016, I found out that my older sister, Kelsey, is expecting a baby. I did not put it in my other posts as it was too early to spread the news but I can say it now as she is just over 4 months pregnant. Yup, that’s right… I’m going to be an auntie! It is absolutely impossible for me to be any more excited for Kelsey and her husband, Matt. Their relationship is the perfect example of what love is and soon their family will welcome a new member into the world. My sister will be an unbelievable mother and Matt, a fantastic father. I wish nothing but the best for your family and if this child is raised anything like how we were raised; I know they will grow up to do great things.

So I thank you mom and dad, grandpa, nana and papa, meme and pepe, aunts and uncles, extended family and family that may not be blood related, for everything that has been taught by you, to my sister and I. Without our family, we would not be the people we are today. I thank you for putting so much love into our family.


RECENT POSTS:
bottom of page