top of page

Here we go again!

In February, 2017, I took a second group to the Dominican Republic. This time, my team consisted of 5 individuals who were all very eager to make a difference in the small town of Monte Cristi. Believe it or not, going to the same destination does not mean having the same experience.

Just like last year: We travelled with the same agents and airline. Volunteered with the same organization. Had three/five of the same volunteers on our team. Woke up to the sound of roosters and donkeys. Went to bed to the sound of music and bikes in the streets. We sweat like crazy. We taught English in the same school and saw the same students as last year. We even brought some of the same teaching ideas with us from last year. However, much changed.

This year: We went for two weeks instead of one week. We got the opportunity to teach our own classes in the Outreach360 learning centre. We made multiple new friends. One of my team members got sick. I got 10x more mosquito bites. I was forced to sleep with three crickets in my room. I got home sick. I cried when I heard a local Dominican friend of mine sing “Amazing Grace” at her church because it was the most beautiful thing I’ve ever heard. I walked the streets of Monte Cristi with confidence and a feeling of home. I didn’t get another tattoo. I led different groups of high school students to schools for English teaching. I got lost in the Dajabon Market after losing my team because I spent too much time talking to someone who was also from Ontario, and it felt amazing to stop and watch the organized chaos occur.

This experience once again transformed my life in a way that is so hard for me to explain. The Dominican Republic is easily a second home for me and I will forever await returning to Monte Cristi. This being said, this upcoming year, I will be taking a team to Nicaragua. Outreach360 has two locations right now; in Monte Cristi, Dominican Republic and in Jinotega, Nicaragua. Since we have been to the DR two years in a row, we thought it was time to check out the Nicaragua site. In March, 2018, I will be taking two other volunteers with me to Jinotega (one whom has been with me since day 1). We will be staying in Nica for one week and will be teaching English once again. While there, we will have both similar and different experiences as the part two years in the Dominican. We will teach the same language but will get the opportunity to experience a different culture while meeting new friends and also seeing familiar faces.

If these trips interest you in any way, or if you would just like to share a thought, reach out and send me a message! I love to hear from you guys! Thank you for being amazing!

 

“If you don’t stop to enjoy life, you’ll ride right to the end with no stories to tell of how you got there”-

Xo Court


RECENT POSTS:
bottom of page